Updates/Closure Times

For information on the status of the project, or to see what’s been going on, click here. SW / BL represents sidewalk and bike lane.

Closures to the Macdonald Bridge
Wednesday, September 20 Closing at 7pm opening at 5:30am – SW/BL closed 10pm to 5am
Thursday, September 21 Closing at 7pm opening at 5:30am – SW/BL closed 10pm to 5am
Friday, September 22 Opening at 5:30am closing at 7pm – SW/BL open
Saturday, September 23 Closed – resetting expansion joint at the Halifax main tower – SW/BL open
Sunday, September 24 Closed – resetting expansion joint at the Halifax main tower – SW/BL open
Monday, September 25 Opening at 5:30am closing at 7:00pm – SW/BL closed 10pm to 5am
Tuesday, September 26 Opening at 5:30am closing at 7:00pm – SW/BL closed 10pm to 5am
Wednesday, September 27 Opening at 5:30am closing at 7:00pm – SW/BL closed 10pm to 5am
Thursday, September 28 Opening at 5:30am closing at 7:00pm – SW/BL closed 10pm to 5am
Friday, September 29 Opening at 5:30am closing at 7:00pm – SW/BL open
Saturday, September 30 Closed for paving at expansion joints and repairs – SW/BL open
Sunday, October 1 Closed for paving at expansion joints and repairs – SW/BL open
Monday. October 2 Opening at 5:30 am closing at 7:00pm – SW/BL open

Note: Except when noted in the schedule above the pedestrian/cycle lanes are now open. The shuttle service does not operate when the sidewalk and bike lane are open.

If you need information about Halifax Transit options/changes during the Big Lift you can find it here.

To find out if bridge closures are cancelled please check Twitter @hhbridges, call 902.406.5438 or download the app.